If you are an injured worker applying for social security disability in Newport News, you will need to provide medical proof of having an injury that keeps you from being able to work for at least one full year.
As soon as you are injured, you should apply for Newport News social security disability benefits either online or in person at a local SSA field office. Once your application has been received by the SSA, it will be reviewed to determine your non-medical eligibility to receive benefits. After the non-medical review has been conducted, your application will be forward to the Virginia Disability Determination Service (DDS) for medical review. The DDS requests medical evidence of your disability from your treating physician. If your doctor is able to provide enough evidence to support your disability claim, the DDS will inform the SSA of your eligibility. If there is not sufficient evidence to support your Newport News social security disability claim, your claim may be denied.
In the state of Virginia, about one-third of all initial disability claims are awarded. If your initial claim is denied, you may appeal the decision and ask for reconsideration. If the claim is denied a second time, you reserve the right to ask that your Newport News social security disability case be heard by an administrative law judge (ALJ) at the Norfolk hearing office. Currently, 50% of all cases that go before the Norfolk ALJs are awarded.
Newport News Health Resources
So much of the outcome of your Newport News SSD claim relies on the evidence made available in your medical records. Ensuring that you are able to provide medical proof of your disability is as important to your case as filing the claim itself. You must be receiving proper medical attention and be under the direct care of a licensed medical professional throughout your recovery.
If you are not currently under the care of a doctor or if you are unable to afford medical attention, you can take advantage of reduced-cost and free health care facilities in the Newport News area.
Peninsula Health Center
416 J. Clyde Morris Blvd
Newport News, VA 23601
PICH at Stoneybrook
15425-H Warwick Boulevard
Newport News, VA, 23608
(757) 591-0643, ext. 1118
Riverside Regional Medical Center
500 J. Clyde Morris Blvd.
Newport News, VA 23601
Dr. Richard F. Clark H.E.L.P. Free Clinic
1320 La Salle Avenue
Hampton, VA 23669
Lackey Free Clinic
1620 Old Williamsburg Road
Yorktown, VA 23690
Newport News Area Mental Health Resources
If you are suffering from a mental health issue that prevents you from getting and keeping a job, you may qualify for Newport News social security disability benefits. For help with mental health issues which have affected your ability to work, these Newport News area mental health facilities may be of assistance.
Riverside Behavioral Health Center
2244 Executive Drive
Hampton, VA 23666
Newport News Supplemental Social Security Benefits
The State of Virginia administers and pays supplemental SSI benefits to individuals approved for federal benefits under either Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). The state will pay you benefits in addition to what you receive from the federal government. Currently, the Federal social security disability benefit rate is $914 for an independent individual and $1,371 for a couple. To apply for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) contact the local Newport News Social Security office.
When to Find a Newport News Social Security Disability Attorney
There is a good chance you will have to follow up your initial SSD claim with an appeal or even request a hearing if your appeal is denied. The review process for social security can be pretty lengthy and if you are unable to work during that time, the financial ramifications of your disability can be difficult to manage. It may be in your best interest to get the help of a Newport News social security disability attorney to expedite the process and improve your chances of winning your social security disability claim. Many attorneys offer a free initial consultation and charge a fee only if they win your case.