Do Compassionate Allowances Have a 5 Month Waiting Period?

Submitted by rsg on

When applying for Social Security disability benefits, you may have to wait five months from the time your benefits are approved before you can receive them. However, there are instances in which an applicant for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits may be unable to wait that long.

In these circumstances, an applicant may qualify for a compassionate allowance. The SSDI will expedite their claim if an applicant has a condition that meets certain criteria.

What is the Five-Month Waiting Period?

The five-month waiting period for disability benefits is a provision in the SSDI program that requires individuals to wait five months after they become disabled before they can receive benefits. The purpose of the waiting period is to ensure that only those who are unable to work for an extended period of time receive disability benefits.

To qualify for SSDI benefits, an individual must have a severe medical condition that prevents them from working and is likely to last at least 12 months or result in death. In addition, the individual must have worked and paid into the Social Security system for a certain number of years, depending on their age.

After an individual applies for SSDI benefits and their claim is approved, the five-month waiting period begins. If the individual's disability is likely to last at least 12 months, they will begin receiving benefits after the waiting period is over. If their disability is unlikely to last less than 12 months, they will not be eligible for SSDI benefits.

It is important to note that the five-month waiting period does not apply to Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits, which are designed to provide financial assistance to individuals with low income and few assets who are disabled, blind, or over the age of 65. SSI benefits are available to individuals who meet the eligibility requirements, regardless of how long they have been disabled.

What Are Compassionate Allowances?

Compassionate allowances are a way for the Social Security Administration (SSA) to expedite the processing of disability claims for individuals with severe disabilities or medical conditions. The goal of compassionate allowances is to provide financial assistance to individuals who are unable to work due to their disability as quickly as possible.

To be eligible for a compassionate allowance, an individual must have a medical condition that is so severe that it clearly meets the SSA's definition of disability. Some examples of conditions that may qualify for a compassionate allowance include certain types of cancer, Alzheimer's disease, and muscular dystrophy.

Related News: SSA Expands Their Compassionate Allowances

Get Help With Your Disability Benefits Claim

A Social Security disability benefits attorney may be able to assist you in seeking the benefits you deserve. For more information, complete the Free Case Evaluation on this page to get connected with an independent, participating attorney who subscribes to the website.

Additional Resources

Find Out If I Qualify for Benefits!